BLUES / BLUES ROCK / John Mayer

Room For Squares-JOHN MAYER-2001


I wanted to tell you that his acoustic guitar and heartfelt, no frills voice caught my attention and made me a fan. I can’t do that, cause that would be lying and I do not lie. The truth of the matter is that most of the album, about 80% of it, is unmemorable mainstream pop of which I want no part of, mainly because I tried and tried but failed to be interested in anything. Only the perky pop of “Your Body is a Wonderland” got me listening, however, I see potential. This song is good, really good. Particularly of hope is the boy’s voice, it has personality, and at least he sounds like a man, and not halfway in between. Other than that, “Neon” is a good song with the minor keys really hitting the spot and making it kinda neat. Other than that; tepid and understated. Baba will look at the other albums and let you know.

His debut’s most major failing? 10 minutes after I listen to it, I forget what it sounds like. Bland is the word.

Ok, my reviews are short, shitty and you hardly get to know anything and it is quite clear that I don’t know what I am talking about, but the point is that I didn’t like this. And that’s it really.

-Baba T

More hopeful JOHN MAYER reviews right THIS WAY.

BLUES ROCK reviews HERE.

Straightforward. Heartfelt. Boring.

Leave a Reply

