Pink Floyd / PROGRESSIVE/ ART/ PSYCHEDELIC

Wish You Were Here-PINK FLOYD-1973


Pink Floyd - Wish You Were Here - 1a

I am completely drunk off my ass. Completely.

I suppose this is the best time to write about my favorite album of all time.

Yes, this is my number one album of all time

I don’t know really, what to say about this one. Really. It’s an experience. Either you get it or you don’t.

When I want to meditate I listen to Shine on You Crazy Diamond. When I want to sleep, I listen to Shine on You Crazy Diamond. When I am sad, and need comforting at night, I listen to Shine on You Crazy Diamond. When I am tired of the world, I listen to Shine on You Crazy Diamond.

I really do not know what else to write. I have been listening to this album since 1996 when I was 6 years old, before I even knew about Pink Floyd. I listen to this album at least 3 times per week, for various reasons. Ok, let’s put all the sentimentalism aside. Let me review this album.

“Wish You Were Here” finds Pink Floyd at their progressive best. It contains the best “epic” song they have ever done, the tribute (supposedly) to Syd Barrett, Shine on You Crazy Diamond, which is divided into 2 parts, both about 13 minutes long. It is the most mesmerizing piece of music I have ever heard. No, it is. It is, it is. The song is built up slowly, and climaxes beautifully. The guitars are the main feature here. David Gilmour, you rock. Simply rock. It is the best piece of prog rock there is.

As for the other pieces of music, really, it’s all good. We have the overtly sentimental ballad, title track, then we have the cynical “fuck the music industry”, song, called, “Have a Cigar” which has the lyrics “By the Way, Which ones Pink?” You know all about it. There is only one type of review I can give this album. Positive. There is only one type of advice I can give regarding this album. Listen to it, if you haven’t already. Pink Floyd at its absolute best. Waters lyrics never got better, nor their tendency to put you into a trance. No piece of music has endeared to me more, and I don’t think any ever will, at least to this level.

Baba T

Doctor kindly tell your wife; that I’m alive – flowers thrive – realize – More PINK FLOYD reviews HERE.

More pompous and self important PROGRESSIVE/ART/PSYCHEDELIC music HERE.


3 thoughts on “Wish You Were Here-PINK FLOYD-1973

  1. nice review…i like have a cigar a lot. wonder why it was not included in Echoes…is certainly better than a few who made it.

  2. Floyd is God to me. And while it’s not good to compare, I’d rate WYWH after DSOTM. But that’s me.

    In any case, can’t agree more with you. Love the album. Just!

Leave a Reply

