The Wall-PINK FLOYD-1979


It’s my birthday today, so I was generally thinking about life and shit. Then I thought of the Wall, and decided that I might review an album that I grew up listening. It’s been a long time since I heard this one. Not that anybody needs any more reviews of the Great Floyd. But since I have started, I might as well finish it off.

First the useless prelims:-it is a rock opera, a concept album, about a guy who is surrounded by this metaphorical Wall, consisting of his mother, schoolteachers, wife etc This guy then goes nuts. That is the very basic outline, and the one most people agree upon. I won’t go on, if you like you can take your own interpretations of classics like Run Like Hell, Comfortably Numb, Nobody Home etc. It is more fun that way. Many people dismiss this by saying “Roger Waters is a prick, ohh he acts like he is so important, the fucker, pretentious bullshit” and so on and so forth. I trust that you won’t listen to these narrow SOBs and make your own opinion.

Wish me Happy Birthday.

Break the Walls Down!!

Now, for the musical style and value. EXCELLENT. There is no other description. It is classic after classic, trust me. Oh well, you already know that, dontcha!!  They also went disco!! Another Brick in the Wall!! The anthem for bored and tortured school students!! Yay!!

Ahem. On a more sedate note, if we pick apart song after song, there are classics enough for two normal albums. I could name them all, but that ain’t no use. No. The best way to listen to this album is to listen to it one sitting, and unlike Quadrofuckingphenia you will be able to achieve such a feat, very easily. Its only the rare album that I ever listen to in one sitting and this is one of those. In fact, in my humble opinion, there are not many albums in rock music which deserve to be heard in one sitting.

In the context of their career, this is more of a Waters solo album, more than a Pink Floyd album, but that is ok, cause this might be the only decent solo album Waters ever made. You know, this is rock, and it hits the sweet spots while Amused to Death and Radio K.A.O.S, err…..are just a big pile of horseshit.

That’s quite enough. Wish me Happy Birthday.

-Baba T

More PINK FLOYD reviews HERE.

More PROGRESSIVE/ART/PSYCHEDELIC reviews HERE.

SHARE THIS REVIEW, PEOPLE! –> Share




About thatdoesntsoundright

We write the best damn music reviews around. View all posts by thatdoesntsoundright

2 responses to “The Wall-PINK FLOYD-1979

  • stenfalk

    Happy birthday, about a year too late and a few days too early.
    Again I am going to have to agree with you, this album is a master piece and must be listened to from the start to the end without interruption.
    Poking through your site and reading your reviews of the music I know, I can’t help but wonder what you think of bands like HIM, the 69eyes and the Rasmus?

  • thatdoesntsoundright

    Thank You!! Never heard any of them. Thanks for going through the site, it means a lot to us. Let us know if there is anything you would like reviewed. Cheers!!

    -Baba T

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 478 other followers

